the bounty

11 Jun

Image

At the end of the day I would have to say that to date this has been my most productive season thus far. On Saturday morning I awoke around 5:30am to get ready for the day ahead. The forecast was for temperatures around 95 degrees so I knew that the harvest had to be done early to beat the heat. Once the food is harvested with temperatures like that there is no other choice. The forecast was spot on and it was sweltering. I awoke a bit knackered and because I have no choice I set out to work. Right off the bat I was sparked to life by the surprise of very nice large cauliflower ready to be harvested. This was so nice because last year my crop was sub par. This one thing gave me the gusto to make it happen yet again.There are so many small events that transpire in the fields, every day there is a new experience or lesson to learn. Personally growing with the food, what could be better?

This time of the year is the hardest for many reasons. There is planting and harvesting, and don’t mention the weeds(they grow faster than most crops), with the added pressure of the weather and the small window of time for the summer crops to be planted. It is all happening know. After next week the acre will be all planted and then the season shifts, no it is not rest time. The next task is to start to clean out the spring beds and plant a cover crop, along with the harvesting and weeding and planting of the fall crops. It looks like my work is cut out for me.

Leave a Reply

