finished planting an acre today

5 Jun

ImageImage

 

I started planting seeds in the greenhouse on the 26th of February, and the first seeds went into the field on the 12th of March, the beets and carrots you see above. As of today my acre is completely planted, finished off with some transplanting of lettuce from the greenhouse, and 3 rows of pumpkin seeds. A momentous day in the coarse of the season, you shift gears. That is not to say that I am done planting, only the first round.

The rewards are many when you get to spend your days toiling in the fields, today as I was departing came my favorite gift of the day. The bees were swarming on a tree next to my lettuce beds, a sight truly incredible to witness. As I spend my days working away at the farm I become very aware of what is happening in my own acre ecosystem, the insects, the frogs, the constant change. the conclusion is I have come to is I have been given the opportunity to grow food on a very heathy and happy portion of land, what a great place to work!

Leave a Reply

